RSS

Hello world!

13 Aug

It’s Monday. Like everyone else in the world, I hate Mondays. This week, however, the reason isn’t because I had to go back to work today. In fact, I had the day off! Instead, this Monday marks the end of a fun and exciting (but Tenorless) weekend.

For those of you that don’t know, I am a huge fan of the music group The Texas Tenors. To date, I have seen 38 of their concerts and traveled over 30,800 miles to see them all around the country. Right about now, you are probably thinking I’m more obsessed than anything. The truth is, The Texas Tenors and their fans have become such a huge part of my life that I don’t know what I would do without them! How does someone become so involved with a music group? Honestly, I have no idea. It just happened. My mom and I became engrossed in the tv show America’s Got Talent in 2009 (the only season we have ever watched). It just so happened that this was the season The Texas Tenors were on. We fell in love with them after hearing John Hagen belt out his long note during “Mountain Music”. It became obvious that these were three talented cowboys.

We gave them our support for the entire season, and after they took 4th place, they went out to Las Vegas to perform for America’s Got Talent Live at Planet Hollywood. Thinking it would be our only opportunity to see them, we flew out to Las Vegas over Halloween. Their portion of the show was spectacular, but meeting them afterwards was the best part. That is when I discovered John used to teach at Wartburg College, which is where I was a junior at that time. It was an instant connection.

Me with the sign from the show.

After we fell in love in Las Vegas, we didn’t hesitate to drive to Valparaiso, Indiana, a few months later to see them perform for a Christmas concert. We’ve been going to concerts ever since!

At this point, The Texas Tenors are more than three singing cowboys onstage. They are my friends. John Hagen, Marcus Collins, and JC Fisher are three of the greatest guys you could ever hope to meet. I cherish every minute I have with them and am always looking forward to the next. They genuinely care about every single fan, and they make a conscious effort to get to know everyone.

One of my favorite parts of following The Texas Tenors is that they have some of the best fans ever. Last October, my mom and I partnered up with Cheryl Stauffer to plan a fan event in Branson. Ever since, their biggest fans have bonded. We go to concerts together, eat together, and laugh together. We even get to hang out with the Tenors together!

A group of fans with Marcus and John at Andy’s Custard.

The Texas Tenors and their fans have been such an inspiration for me. Their music is wonderful. I’m thoroughly convinced that they could sing “I’m a Little Teapot” and make it sound good. However, they are more than the music. They have such passion and emotion that they put into their songs. Their songs tug at your heartstrings no matter how many times you hear them. Their original song, “You Should Dream”, by Dana Lamb, has motivated me to think the unthinkable, believe in myself, and attempt to “set the world on fire”. My goal is to promote their message and make sure people everywhere have the opportunity to know the group that is so near and dear to my heart: The Texas Tenors. If you haven’t already, be sure to check them out on Facebook or their website (www.thetexastenors.com). You won’t be disappointed!

After a concert in Grand Junction, CO, with the guys.

 
28 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2012 in Music

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

28 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Teena Carter

    August 14, 2012 at 3:28 am

    Awesome post. I feel the same way and cherish all the friendships I have made. the guys are a blessing to anyone who takes the time to listen to thier music and get to know them.

     
    • tttfansarah

      August 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm

      They certainly are a blessing and a joy to get to know!

       
  2. Beth Van Elsen

    August 14, 2012 at 4:06 am

    I agree with Sarah and Teena wholeheartedly. We certainly all did fall in love with the diversified music of The Texas Tenors. I have attended 39 concerts to date and can’t wait until their next upcoming concert in Godrey, IL.

     
    • tttfansarah

      August 14, 2012 at 12:54 pm

      Thanks! Only 4 more weeks to Godfrey!

       
  3. Sabra Rieck

    August 14, 2012 at 6:54 am

    Very well said, Sarah! I first saw the Tenors performing in Branson in Sept. 2011 and have been hooked ever since. Their music is absolutely amazing and so diverse that everyone should be able to find something they like, but it’s the personalities that go with the music that make it most worthwhile. I have not had the opportunity to get to know the guys as well as many of the others, but they always make you feel immediately like someone they’ve known their whole life when you talk to them. I try to promote them to anyone I know and get to as many concerts as possible, espeically when they are in Branson. So if you haven’t seen them yet, check out their upcoming schedule and get to a concert. You certainly won’t regret it!!

     
    • tttfansarah

      August 14, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      All it takes is one concert to become completely hooked!

       
      • Jeanette Allison-Glaser

        August 14, 2012 at 1:42 pm

        I agree wholeheartedly Sarah 🙂 I had seen them on AGT in 2009 and was so disappointed when they didn’t win. I happened to be in Branson for Memorial Day weekend and when I realized they had a show in town, I told my husband I HAD to go. I have gone to 4 other concerts since then (including one trip to NC in which we drove 17 hours one way, got 3 hours of sleep the night before the concert and were very “happy” by performance time.) I will be attending a concert in Godfrey and then I am going down to Branson to celebrate my 46th birthday with the guys and the other tenors fans and can’t wait. Just can’t get enough of listening to the guys and hanging out with my fellow Tenorettes!!!

         
      • tttfansarah

        August 14, 2012 at 4:16 pm

        It’s completely worth it, and you never get tired of hearing them!

         
  4. Joyce Warren

    August 14, 2012 at 9:29 am

    Good job Sarah, well written. I also fell in love with them on AGT, the first time I saw them in person was at Hutchinson at the Fox theater. They put on one wonderful show. But the lady running the show at the Fox wouldn’t let us talk to them also said no pictures during the concert. Just let her take the pictures afterwords in the loby. The next time I saw them was in Branson and got to meet them. And got to meet all you girls putting scrap books together. I feel because of the guys I have made a lot of friends that I will keep for life.

     
    • tttfansarah

      August 14, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      Thank you Joyce! I will always cherish the friendships I’ve made through The Texas Tenors too. Hope to see you soon!

       
  5. Molly Jarrett

    August 14, 2012 at 9:35 am

    Beautifully written Sarah! I agree with everything you said about The Texas Tenors………..they are just special to everyone that has the opportunity to meet them. I already have so many special memories of times I have been lucky to share with them and can’t wait for more!

     
    • tttfansarah

      August 14, 2012 at 12:10 pm

      October isn’t that far away!

       
  6. Kathy

    August 14, 2012 at 9:38 am

    What a wonderful journey you have been on…..those TTT are remarkable and truer words were never said……you captured what we all feel!

     
    • tttfansarah

      August 14, 2012 at 12:10 pm

      It has been a great journey, and I can’t wait to see where else I go with it!

       
  7. Kay Strum

    August 14, 2012 at 9:43 am

    It’s so great that you have done this. I can’t wait to see them in Cedar Falls in December.

     
    • tttfansarah

      August 14, 2012 at 12:09 pm

      I can’t wait either! Have you gotten your tickets yet?

       
  8. Helen Flynt

    August 14, 2012 at 11:15 am

    I love this blog. From the first time I saw The Texas Tenors on America’s Got Talent, I absolutely loved them. Little did I know at that time that they would become such an important part of my life. Even though I have seen them 43 times, I look forward to the next concert with even more enthusiasm than the one before. I will forever be grateful to Marcus, John and Jc for the beautiful music and the great friendships that have formed because of The Texas Tenors. Looking forward to reading the next installment of your blog!!

     
    • tttfansarah

      August 14, 2012 at 12:08 pm

      You are definitely right Helen! Has it really been 43 times for you???

       
      • Helen Flynt

        August 14, 2012 at 6:11 pm

        Yes it has been 43 times and many more to add to that number for the rest of 2012.

         
  9. Jeanie

    August 14, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    Nice, Sarah. You have expressed what a lot of us feel. The Texas Tenors and the Tenorettes feel like “family” and it is because of them that we have all met and become friends. What more can a person ask for. 🙂

     
    • tttfansarah

      August 14, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      It’s such a great family too! I’m proud to be a part of it!

       
  10. Lynne Higgins

    August 14, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Well done, Sarah! I love what you’ve written. I too feel that the Tenors & Tenorettes have become such a very important part of my life and feel so fortunate for the friendships I’ve made. Thanks John, JC & Marcus – you made it happen! Without you, the Fan Club would have remained a group of strangers.

     
    • TTTFanSarah

      August 16, 2012 at 12:44 am

      Thank you Lynne! I don’t think we could possibly thank those guys enough for bringing us all together!

       
  11. Pat Slack

    August 14, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    You expressed so well what we all feel about the Tenors and their beautiful voices. I have seen 14 shows now and looking forward to many many more and getting to know the group of fans much better.

     
    • TTTFanSarah

      August 16, 2012 at 12:45 am

      Are you planning on going their first weekend back to Branson?

       
  12. Judy Lucien

    August 14, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    Beautifully put, Sarah! I also followed them on AGT and was disappointed when they only ended up in 4th place. I absolutely believe that God had a better plan for them. As you and so many others have said, it is because of these 3 wonderful men that we have all gotten to enjoy beautiful music, heartfelt comments, and made so many new and fantastic friends. They truly love their fans and show it after each performance. I will forever be a fan and cherish all the new friendships I have made. God bless The Texas Tenors and the Tenorettes!

     
    • TTTFanSarah

      August 16, 2012 at 12:46 am

      They should have won AGT! By the way, be sure to check out my next entry. It features you!

       
  13. Barb Roland

    January 1, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    Loved reading about your story and how the connection started Sarah!

     

Leave a Reply

 
